Public Swimming Pools
Water-based physical activity, such as swimming, improves physical and mental health throughout life; however, it can put people at risk for recreational water–associated illness and injury. Code enforcement through inspections of public aquatic facilities is an important tool in keeping Tulsa County residents healthy.
Virginia Graeme Baker Act
By December 19, 2008, ALL public pools and spas that operate year round, and before opening in 2009, ALL public pools and spas that operate seasonally, must:
- Install drain covers that meet the ANSI/ASME A112.19.8-2007 standard on EVERY drain grate. A list of cover manufacturers can be found at www.cpsc.gov.
- Install an automatic shut-off system, gravity drainage system, Safety Vacuum Release System (SVRS), suction-limiting vent system if the pool operates off of a SINGLE main drain. Pools and spas with UNBLOCKABLE drains are exempt from this requirement. A list of SVRS manufacturers can be found atwww.cpsc.gov/whatsnew.html#pool.
- Ensure that dual or multiple drains are at least 3 feet apart from center to center.
If you have any further questions, please contact us at 918-595-4328, or at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Effective November 1, 2010, the Oklahoma state statute changed excluding splash pads from licensure. Therefore, THD will no longer inspect or license splash pads. Swallowing water in interactive fountains, splash pads, and spray parks might make you sick. View an infographic for tips on staying safe at splash pads and interactive water fountains.
Americans With Disabilities Act
By January of 2013 certain public pools and spas will be required to provide handicap access. To get further information or to see if you are required to provide this access go to www.access-board.gov.
Pool Operator Permit Training Courses
Anyone operating a commercial pool in Tulsa or Broken Arrow must be certified through courses offered by the Tulsa Health Department. Those operating pools outside these city limits are strongly encouraged to attend.
There will be no pre-registration for class. Show up on your chosen class date by 8:00 a.m. to register for the class that day. The fee is $40.00 per person and may be paid with cash, corporate check, certified check or money order. No personal checks will be accepted. Seating is limited to the first 35 to register.
Five-year certifications can be received through three avenues:
- Attend a THD class and pass a test.
- Experienced operators may take a challenge test, given on class days only. Passing provides a five-year permit; failing requires attending a THD class.
- Proof of current certification from a nationally recognized organization.
- Swimming pool calculations
- Circulation systems
- Water balance
- Chemical use, dosage and safety
- Preventative maintenance
- Inspection Review
For more information, please call 918-595-4200, or click to view the following helpful manuals:
- Pool Operators Permit Instruction Manual
- Chapter 315: Public Bathing Facility Standards
- Chapter 320: Public Bathing Place Operational Regulations